Not just what you have to do, but also what you can do. Meet your clients where they are and be secure. This is a live continuing education event, updated for 2016, worth 3 continuing education hours.

Register Now→

3 Hours. Live, Dynamic, and Personable. Continuing Education Event.

Level 1 Educational Objectives:

  • Determine what the clinician needs to do to achieve compliance with HIPAA Security and HITECH mandates around transmission technology.
  • Describe security standards like encryption and when we need them in clinical practice – legally, ethically and practically.
  • Assess popular communications technologies for ethical, clinical and practical appropriateness for use with clients.

A Live Online Continuing Education Event


Date: Friday, April 8th
Time: Pacific: 11AM – 2PM; Mountain: Noon – 3PM; Central:1PM – 4PM; Eastern: 2PM – 5PM

Roy HugginsThis seminar is presented by Roy Huggins, LPC NCC, a counselor in private practice who also directs Person-Centered Tech. Roy worked as a professional Web developer for 7 years before changing paths, and makes it his mission to grow clinicians’ understanding of the Internet and other electronic communications mediums for the future of our practices and our professions.

Roy is an adjunct instructor at the Portland State University Counseling program where he teaches Ethics, and is a member of the Zur Institute advisory board. He has acted as a subject matter expert on HIPAA, security and clinical use of technology for Counseling licensure boards and both state and national mental health professional organizations. He has co-authored or authored 2 book chapters, and he routinely consults with mental health colleagues on ethical and practical issues surrounding tech in clinical practice. He served for 5 years on the board of the Oregon Mental Health Counselors Association and then the Oregon Counseling Association as the Technology Committee Chair.

He really likes this stuff.

Tuition: $75 purchased individually

v1.26.04-beta

Scheduled Maintenance

We will be temporarily taking the website offline at 10:00 PM Pacific (1:00 AM Eastern) tonight, July 6, in order to make some improvements. We plan to be back online by midnight Pacific (3:00 AM Eastern). We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Dismiss